Marketing Yourself: What You Need To Know You Probably Learned in Kindergarten

Posted on November 6, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

“Mommy, look at me!”

Zoë dancing.

"Pretty cool, huh?" Zoë, age 4.

“See what I can do!”

“Watch this!”

I hear this pretty much every day from my daughter, Zoë, and it makes me smile. I’m the mom of an almost five year-old who clearly doesn’t lack confidence in certain areas of her life. For example, she won’t let me and my husband watch “So You Think You Can Dance” without showing us her most recent moves. She dances right in front of the television screen so we can’t help but to watch her. We play the judges, giving her compliments galore about her musicality, expression and pointed toes.

She’s good. She knows it. And she reminds us all the time when she asks in wonder at her own abilities, “Did you see that?”

What’s this have to do with marketing?

Here’s my point: When do we lose that ability to tell our friends, family and colleagues that we’re good at something? Why is it hard for some of us to put ourselves out there, promoting our skills, expertise, knowledge or talents?

Generally and overwhelmingly, the people you know will be the first ones to give you support at every turn. You just have to put it out there.  And “it” could be your passion, latest venture, a goal, a hidden talent or a special project. While self-promotion may not be the easiest kind of marketing, it’s the best kind by far.

Last week, I participated in a team-building exercise where each person was asked to share what he or she was good at doing, great at doing and genius at doing. Thirteen adults had an opportunity to say in our own honest, confident or modest way, “See what I can do!” The greatest part, however, was the support and affirmation everyone received from other team mates. That was priceless.

My husband, who’s also in the marketing business, likes to use this well-known quote when he talks with clients about the value of marketing and PR: “If you don’t toot your own horn, someone will use it as a spittoon.” If you have something going on in your life that you want to promote, try putting it out there. Go toot your horn a little.

You’ll be amazed by the number of people who will be there to cheer you on. And that is pretty cool.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

6 Responses to “Marketing Yourself: What You Need To Know You Probably Learned in Kindergarten”

RSS Feed for Kenya Hear Me? A Marketing Blog for Non-Marketers Comments RSS Feed

I love your opening. Absolutely engaging.

Thanks, Levonne!

Great post Kenya! I would love to recapture some of that “see what I can do feeling” that you talk about. I also know someone else who would find your post inspiring. I’m going to share it with them. Have you thought about adding the ‘share on facebook’ button to your wordpress blog. If you want help with it I can show you.

Rick, I’m glad the topic resonates with you. It’s a common struggle for everyone. Thanks for sharing this with other people. And, YES, I would appreciate your help with the FB button on the blog!

Loved this. The intro with Zoe’s great ability to unabashedly put herself and her accomplishments out there is great…a lovely reminder we can do the same.

[…] speech will change as you perfect it. It might not be comfortable at first (see my other post on Marketing Yourself), but push yourself a little. Trust […]


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Kenya Johnson

  • November 2009
    M T W T F S S
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3 other subscribers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...